All-New Member

Default A great find for a newbie

So I am somewhat new to comics. I have only been reading them for about 6 months or so and that has all been graphic novels and trade paper backs. That said the other day I went to a yard sale and the man there was selling comics. But what he had that I knew I had to have was his collction of Marvel essentials. I didnt mind that they were in black and white because they started out oin a lot of the tittles at issue one. I figured this would be a great way for me to earn marvel history and see hwere my favorite charcaters started off. He gave me a great price because I bought all of them and now I have 44 volumes that i am rwading through and I love it.

Like I said a great find for a newbie.

All-New Member

Wow! I, too, love the Showcases and Essentials, with almost 150 of these in my collection. Between the two lines, there are 300, so we each hav a ways to go! I just wish these lines were still going.

Quote Originally Posted by Gernot View Post
    Wow! I, too, love the Showcases and Essentials, with almost 150 of these in my collection. Between the two lines, there are 300, so we each hav a ways to go! I just wish these lines were still going.
    I wonder how much that decision was influenced by rise of digital comics? (Marvel Unlimited is a really tempting proposition for any newcomer wanting to go on a massive splurge of reading Marvel’s back catalogue, and has probably attracted away some of the people that in past would have bought Essentials.)

But I agree with two of you, Essentials and Showcases were great value.

I've been a comic reader since a child and I sorely miss those editions, I even found myself buying and reading characters I had just heard off in passing and I was hooked. Yes, I miss this line and unfortunately they will not return. As for the Epic collection they seem to pick a story line more than going back to the beginning.
    Hail Hydra!

All-New Member