userwitch

Default How important is it to follow order of release when reading crossover events?

Noob question! I hope this is the appropriate forum to ask this question.

I'm brand new to reading comics and I just got hold of a bunch of digital Marvel comic books, and was planning on starting with the Avengers vs. X-Men event.

My comics are all well tagged so I can just select all the books that are part of the AvX story arc, and then sort by published date and read in that order.

The problem with this is that the publish date is in the form MMYY without the exact day, so although I get close the release order within any month the comics are not in chronological order, so my automatically generated list does not exactly match the order of release.

My question is simply does this matter? Do I need to read in this exact order: https://comicbookreadingorders.com/m...reading-order/ in order to get the most out of the story?

I am asking both for the case of AvX specifically and generally for other story arcs.

Thanks for your help!

TLDR: See post title.

I think your reading order link is as good as anything. My reading order is close to the one in the link, so it is not far wrong. I have Wolverine and X-Men #9 before AVX #1, but that’s getting pedantic.

As to your title question, I have tended to sort my tie-ins to an event in order of their list number

eg FEB0120622 in that order for AVX. It’s not legitimately correct, but you do have links to the main story in the right ball park. The correct Reading order of an event is an art, in how you shuffle the floppies in order of appearance of characters. So for example, W+X-Men #9 is way after AVX #2 in list numbering, but is obviously before AVX#1, because Cap conscripts Wolvy into the Avengers just in time for AVX#1.
    Last edited by jackolover; 09-27-2018 at 12:46 AM.

Extraordinary Member Mike_Murdock's Avatar