Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Baby Thanos Member catbellysqueezer's Avatar

Default Bill Maher's awful take on Stan Lee's passing and Marvel Comics in general

Maybe this belongs in the off-topic section, but it is specifically about Stan Lee and his life's work producing comics. I will let a mod decide as this will probably get political.

Anyway, Bill Maher decided to post his opinion on Stan Lee and adults who read comics, and I will let you guys form your own opinions on it:

https://www.real-time-with-bill-mahe...11/16/adulting

I am fairly new to comic books, so I will probably refrain from giving my opinion on this until I have cooled off. How do you long-time comic readers feel about this?
    Baby Thanos

Niffleheim

I think it isn't about Stan Lee and more about ppl mourning Stan Lee's legacy, adults still reading comics and watching comic book movies.
    Last edited by Tofali; 11-17-2018 at 02:46 PM.

I really don't care what Bill Maher thinks about Stan or comics.

What I do care about is the disrespect that he's showing towards a human being who has just died.

It doesn't matter cause Stan left behind a legacy that will be remembered long after he's gone. I very much doubt that Bill Maher can say the same thing.

Invincible Member

His point seems to be , "Stan Lee died? Who cares? He wrote comic books and I don't read comics cuz I'm an adult." It comes across as a petty way of expressing his smugness.

But keep in mind Bill is the same cranky old man who goes on about how terrible mobile phones are so...whatever.

I dont understand people who think this way. 'Someone beloved by millions has passed away, let me post about how I dont care. Me me me me me.'

Fucking loser.

Should be ignored.

Bill Maher is a man who is fully in love with himself, who believes his opinion is the end all. Even bothering to acknowledge him is to give him what he wants.