Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    CaptainCatholic

Default Continuity between volumes of Superman comic books

Hi everyone!

So as a young kid, I got really into Superman comics for a time. My parents bought me several issues of The Adventures of Superman in the late 80s and early 90s (I think the issue numbers were something like 470 to 480). I have my own son now, and I just bought him a copy of Superman #8 (apparently from Volume 5 of Superman).

I am a total noob when it comes to comics, and I am confused - looking it up online, it looks like there have been 5 Volumes of Superman comics published. Do these 5 volumes all connect to each other, or are they separate universes with separate storylines, kind of like a "reboot" each time? In other words, when Volume 3 ended, did Volume 4 pick up right where Volume 3 left off?

I am wondering if what my son is reading now is "officially" connected to the same Superman comics I read in the 80s and 90s.

Thanks in advance, I appreciate the help!
    Tony

Father Son Kamehameha < Kuwagaton's Avatar

Welcome Cap. Hopefully my wording does well enough in explaining the snags.

Superman volume one was the original going from the 40s to mid 80s. It starred technically one version of Superman, but by the 50s, as it tends to happen in long serials, he had changed. So much so that they began to classify the earlier stories as being a different version. Where the change started has not officially been defined.

Superman volume two was a whole new Superman for the 80s, the one you would know. The old volume became a secondary title called Adventures of Superman with this same new version, so that the old numbering (volume one) continued but the actual Superman title had a more inviting number.

As the line downsized volume two ended at 225 and Adventures once again became volume one. By this point Superman was drastically and more suddenly changed, but to keep it simple he was regarded as the same character.