Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    All-New Member

Default Why Do People Even Care About Wally West?

I keep seeing all over people upset about how Wally West has been treated and especially in HiC.

Why do fans care about him so much? I am new to DC but more specifically do not know anything about Flash.

I see that Flash is an important figure and that I need to figure out what Flashpoint is, but what is special about Wally West?

Hey Baby--Wha's Happ'nin? HandofPrometheus's Avatar

He carried the Flash franchise on his back for over 20 years. And arguably made it popular.

Amazing Member

By no means do I speak for everyone, but I think a sizable reaction to current issues and why people are upset is that for a decent percentage of readers who grew up in the 80's & 90's Wally IS their Flash.

Barry's death in CoIE in the mid 80's led to Wally taking over both the main Flash book, and coupling that with his near constant presence in Titans & Justice League books his characterization was what locked in for many people as "The" Flash. His was the characterization used in the JLA animated series, and you could argue that when they transitioned to the live action CW Flash, while he had the Barry name and origin his personality was in large part a mixture of Barry & Wally.

This lead to a decent pushback when Barry was brought back to life, and almost more that 2 decades of largely coherent and constant character growth and development were to a degree pushed to the wayside to bring Barry back to the "forefront" of the franchise as the lead Flash.

When he went into limbo post Flashpoint into the New52 it was something people dealt with, but with this recent return and ... confusing issue of timelines/memories/and out of character portrayals has left people just a bit cold on the whole issue.

BANNED