Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Amazing Member

Default How do you complete runs for your collection?

Hi

I was just wondering how do you complete runs in your collection? I tend to buy large lots on Ebay but not complete (Complete runs are outrageous).
    Then to complete these lots is not easy.
    For individual comics on Ebay, shipping will kill you. I have gone to several comic book shops and the selection is very weak, and unfortunately the prices are no better than Ebay (I don't blame them, I know they have to pay the rent and employees.)
    I went to a flea market that had 2 sellers and what a mess it was, comics were thrown in boxes with no organisation and no prices, you don't know what they are going to charge you.

Thxs

Pat

Spectacular Member

personally i have been filling my collections buying from Milehighcomics online. They are super reliable (if a bit slow) and quite often have big sales (60% off at the moment). I have been ordering from them since 1989 (Upward of 2000 issues) and in that time i have been sent 1, yes 1 incorrect issue. And when I emailed them they sent me the correct one immediately. Their website hasn't changed since the mid 90s but hey if it ain't broke don't fix it

In the days when I still bought physical comics, like you sometimes bought large runs on eBay. Any gaps I then tended to complete by buying missing comics from dealers with an internet presence (e.g. my comic shop.com and a couple of UK deals, as I’m a Brit).

On sorts of runs I was primarily interested (e.g. John Ostrander or Peter David long runs) never found prices of individual issues prohibitive.

The way I looked at it was that if I’d picked up 60 issues of John O’s Suicidede Squad for 50 quid, I could afford to pay 20 quid for last 6 issues, and still be paying a lot less per comic than I would for 66 new current year comics. And those last 6 comics made overall reading experience far more enjoyable.