All-New Member

Default I really, really want to be able to draw my own comic books, but I have no idea where to start :(

Hello, my name's Joe, and I absolutely love comic books, I mean, who doesn't right? I've read them for so long, and now I'm really interested in creating a few pages of my own content, however - I have to start from absolute scratch, I can't draw, and my handwriting looks isn't much better. What I'm trying to ask is, are there any resources that I can follow to perhaps improve my drawing skill? I know that once I have the basic skills, that there are lots of different books that I can buy (such as the drawing like marvel book)to give me the actual basic drawing skills.

Thanks a lot guys, sorry if this didn't make any sense, I've had an awful lot of caffeine this morning!

I'm fairly new to drawing as well however over the past couple of weeks I've seen some dramatic improvements on my drawings and the reason of it being - PRACTICE

there's no shortcuts or easy way around it. You need to practice a bit whenever you can. I've made it into a habit of everyday drawing for an hour. I mostly focus on the human figure, but I guess you want to do backgrounds as well. I would suggest you buy a sketch pad and hit the nearest park on a busy day and just draw whatever you see people, dogs, squirrels, trees, birds, Frisbee coming at your face, that weird martial arts guy, etc. just draw and draw until you get tired of it and then draw some more. Practice is the only way to get good at it and life drawing is the best practice you can get

as for making comics the best book I've found is one made by Ryan Stegman called I Draw comics

http://www.amazon.com/DRAW-COMICS-Sk...=i+draw+comics
    http://www.amazon.com/DRAW-COMICS-Sk...=i+draw+comics

if you follow the whole thing you'll come out with a new perspective on how drawing comics works and best of all what the general rule to follow in comics is