Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Default Does New Teen Titans by Woflman/Perez hold up?

I'm looking to dive into a superhero epic, and I was wondering if Wolfman/Perez's New Teen Titans holds up today and is worth reading.

FWIW, I've read lots of Claremont's X-Men and have no issues with its "dated" storytelling techniques. I'm in the middle of going through a long binge of the Avengers and it struck me that Teen Titans are a team I have no experience with whatsoever.

Thanks for any input!

Extraordinary Member superduperman's Avatar

Not gonna lie, a lot of the dialogue does not hold up well. Particularly Gar. There's a lot of dated references in it. That having been said, a lot of the stories are pretty good. Some of them kind of don't follow a logical course.
    Assassinate Putin!

Extraordinary Member

I think it does.

There were some very good stories during that run. Plus, it introduced Slade Wilson as Deathstroke the Terminator and showed Robin/Dick Grayson becoming Nightwing.

My only problem with the run was it could be way, way too touchy-feely sometimes. But it's got amazing humor and characterization all through it.

I think there are elements of it that haven't but the overall story, characterization, art and the arcs still hold up pretty well in my opinion.

Some elements like Beast Boy being a perv feel dated* but I think the themes, struggles and emotions it speaks to are timeless.

*thank god he was completely reinvented for 2003 Teen Titans and Young Justice

The CBR Community Guidelines & Rules
    | Report but also PM me directly

There is also Terry Long.

Now excuse me I need to go and wipe him from memory again.

The CBR Community Guidelines & Rules
    | Report but also PM me directly

Ultimate Member SiegePerilous02's Avatar