Obsessed & Compelled Bored at 3:00AM's Avatar

Default Looking for help with my Wonder Woman (2017) ESL Reader adaptation

Hi guys. I'm an ESL teacher and I use ESL readers to teach my students English. Sometimes, I use ESL adaptations of popular movies to make it more exciting. Unfortunately, they stopped making ESL movie adaptations about a decade ago for the DC movies. The last ones I've found were Batman Begins and Superman Returns (which is surprisingly better than the theatrical cut because it includes details the movie absolutely needed).

So, as I know a lot of my students are huge Wonder Woman fans, I've taken it upon myself to make my own ESL Reader adaptation of the first Wonder Woman movie. If anyone has the time or interest, I'd appreciate it if you could take a look and let me know if I've missed anything important or if something doesn't work for you and could be tweaked to improve it.

Some things you should know before reading:

Keep in mind that this is an ESL Reader, so the vocabulary and sentences will be very simplified. It's meant to be easily understood by readers with limited understanding of the English language, so it won't be the most thrilling prose you've ever read

I've completely removed the dumb Daddy Zeus reveal from the third act as I think it's a terrible idea. Your mileage may vary, but that's not something I want included and I'll be showing my students a fan edit of the film that omits all that stuff as well, and it's a better film as a result.

It can't be too long. Each chapter should cover about ten to twenty minutes of the movie and take around that time to read as well.

Any suggestions you may have are appreciated.
    Last edited by Bored at 3:00AM; 11-17-2023 at 01:23 AM.

Thanks for sharing, Bored. I work with ESL students at my own job so I know these can be pretty helpful.