Default Other Corners of Spider-Fandom

One weird thing in comics right now is how niche-ified and splintered things have become, so there's stuff that millions of people might be exposed to that regular comics fans aren't aware of.

For example, this video summary of fight scenes in Dead Language has 2.3 million views.

The account itself has 75,000 subscribers, so this seems to be a video that's atypically popular.

But this had odd implications. This could be how kids could be introduced to the Spider-Man comics.

I'm a teacher, and I remember hearing students talking about how Mary Jane died in Spider-Man: Reign. An illegally downloaded comic discussed in some corner of the internet can easily reach more people than a standard issue of Amazing Spider-Man.

Have you guys come across any examples like this? What do you think of it? What are the implications for Marvel/ fandom?
    Sincerely,
    Thomas Mets

Wig Over The Hoodie Style IamnotJudasTraveller's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Mister Mets View Post
    Have you guys come across any examples like this?
    Yeah, in real life. A friend of mine, who I hadn't touched base with in a while, began talking about usual Youtube "feats" channels since the MCU was still more of a powerhouse than right now. Characters he was very unfamiliar with, like Black Bolt, interested him, because of how powerful they seemed to be.

What do you think of it? What are the implications for Marvel/ fandom?