Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Rise of the Powers of X #1 - Preview and Gillen Interview

Last edited by JB; 01-05-2024 at 05:45 PM.
    "Danielle... I intend to do something rash and violent." - Betsy Braddock
    Krakoa, Arakko, and Otherworld forever!

https://www.cbr.com/x-men-forever-ri...len-interview/

It's a longish interview so def worth reading for some nuggets and tidbits.

CBR: Your Immortal X-Men series comes to a close with Issue #18, but do elements from that book carry over into what you and Gerry Duggan are doing in Fall and Rise and what you're doing with X-Men: Forever?

Gillen: It's really tricky to talk about because I see this all as one motion. Not in a "you can't jump in at any point" way, but more of, "This is a story I've been building for over two years, and the X-office has been building for five." We'll hit a conclusion, and it will be big. It's the Endgame if we want to talk about a Cinematic Universe parallel, which is not a bad comparison to make.

In Immortal #18, we show more of Mother Righteous' cards, and, of course, we've been doing this dovetailing structure with the Xavier side of the story and the White Hot Room side. We reach this big denouement where the two collide and cut away. Then we don't see them for a while because X-Men Forever doesn't kick back in until March.

That's one of the fun things about my side. There's a time gap. So, when we pick up with Xavier in Fall and Rise, there's a question of, "What's been going on with the Sinister Dominion?" That question will get answered, and it's kind of the big plot we've been building toward. We explore that in X-Men: Forever, and it explodes into Rise of the Powers of X.

CBR:You said Rise of the Powers of X is set 10 years in the future. So, I can't help but compare it to the +10 era of the Sins of Sinister event. Is that a valid comparison?