Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default What were the first Batman comics you read?

The ones that got you here..: )

How did you get them and do they still hold up today?

Very first issue

First trade

First back issue

I'm a newb, so my first on-time issue was probably Batman #24. First trade was A Serious House on Serious Earth, because of the artwork. First back-issue was probably Arkham Unhinged #1.

My first issue was Batman #1 of the New 52 about a year after it began (on Comixology) and my first on-time print issue was #14. First trade was Year One, IIRC.

All-New Member

I was never much of a DC fan at all growing up, I was always loyal to marvel as a kid. Once I got a little bit older though, I bought Dark knight returns secondhand & though it sounds like the obvious choice, it was the one that completely changed my perception on Batman, as I always remembered him from the campy 60s show, which I was never a fan of.

Anyway, I loved that read & it's up there as one of, if not, favourite graphic novel experiences. Just loved the dark, gritty feel of it.

I have to say that reading it all these years later, the magic is not there as much as when I was a kid but still will always remain a great read & one that completely changed my perspective on batman & since, has really opened me up to all different styles of Batman.

The dark knight returns. I was already a batman fan from the 89 film and BTAS but this made me love him even more. I was 11 and my friend owned a copy, every time I was at his house I couldn't help but look at it. Thinking how badass he was taking out the mutants and fighting superman. Just awesome

The beginning of Knightfall and some issues of Shadow of the Bat. I was a Marvel kid growing up and never really paid attention to Batman other than the cartoon and movies. Building the entire Knightfall arc is what pulled me back into comics after many years away.

Boing Boing Baggies. Baggie_Saiyan's Avatar