Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Comics for 11-15 year olds

Hi all,

I'm a teacher in the UK and my passion for comics has be noted by the bosses. They've asked me to come up with a comic book club. Their theory is that we can get the reluctant readers (mostly boys) to use the comics as a gateway into reading in general. Now I know what I like, but I'd like some advice on the best comics from a literary standpoint. Furthermore I need to make sure that these comics grab them, so while I'd love to turn them onto less mainstream comics, I need to keep to the more famous comic characters. Finally, while I need these to be collected editions to be meaty enough to be a bit of sustained reading, the school won't want to spend a fortune. Basically massive sagas are out.

How it's going to work: Every half term (6-7 weeks) students will be given a collection to read. At the end of the half term we sit down and discuss. In between we will be doing a mixture of a sketch club, film club and anything else comic related I can throw in to keep them entertained and engaged. If this works well it should inspire the students to move onto the schools reading club next year and have me repeat it with new students next year. Also, I'll love it!

Here are the characters I thought were worth focusing on:
    Batman
    Superman
    Flash
    Xmen
    Avengers
    Spiderman

My only thoughts are:
    Batman: The Killing Joke
    X-Men: Days of Future Past

So if you wanted to show young people the best examples of comic book writing with those characters in them, what would you choose?

God Loves Man Kills

forging evil plans victorxd1999's Avatar

I would go for comics that are modern, easy to read but thought provoking. I would actually rather go with indie comics like East of West. But if you are looking for mainstream characters only I'd go for:
    Avengers Korvac saga (this might be too old fashioned but it's great from a literary perspective.