Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    All-New Member

Question Why Iron Man changes side on Civil War

Hi there,I'm a beginner comic-book reader ,and I started reading Civil War recently. At Spider Man #531 Tony Stark is clearly against the superheroes registration system,he even pays Titanium Man to attack him in order to make the politics guys change their mind about that law. Correct me if I miss any detail at some point of the whole plot,but this thing has been confusing to me. Thanks.

All-New, All-Different Mighty Roman's Avatar

Hi Yeryis, Welcome to CBR (and the world of comics in general). Have you read the main series of Civil War yet?
    After a villain called Nitro destroys the town of Stamford in Civil War #1 (including a school full of children), the government really begins to crack down on superhumans. In Civil War, Tony tries to act as a superhuman ambassador to the registration act, just so the government don't just ban superheroes all together. After all, registration is a better compromise than making superheroes outlaws. Plus, Tony eventually believes that training new heroes is a good idea anyway, to avoid further catastrophes. That said, Tony's motives throughout the War are pretty complex. Hope this helps.

All-New Member

I read the #1 of the main series,well that kinda explains it,so I guess,paying Titanium Man was just a waste of money for Tony Stark

All-New, All-Different Mighty Roman's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Yeryis View Post
    I read the #1 of the main series,well that kinda explains it,so I guess,paying Titanium Man was just a waste of money for Tony Stark