Page 66 of 67 FirstFirst ... 1656626364656667 LastLast
Results 976 to 990 of 993
  1. #976
    Mighty Member Chubistian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    1,176

    Default

    Just received these comicbooks by chilean authors, except for the penciller of Juan Solo, who’s from France
    -Juan Solo, Jodorowsky and Bess
    -Duam, Félix Vega
    -Ídolo, Marcela “Maliki” Trujillo
    A777C7E3-71ED-40FB-9C16-87AFC6F4200C.jpg
    "The Batman is Gotham City. I will watch him. Study him. And when I know him and why he does not kill, I will know this city. And then Gotham will be MINE!"-BANE

    "We're monsters, buddy. Plain and simple. I don't dress it up with fancy names like mutant or post-human; men were born crueler than Apes and we were born crueler than men. It's just the natural order of things"-ULTIMATE SABRETOOTH

  2. #977
    Just Member Attila Kiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    1,647

    Default Magnus Omnibus Part 1

    Still going through my last year's purchase.
    Another Magnus (Roberto Raviola) book.
    This time his hardcover Omnibus.
    Never seen any of these works before.
    What a great book.
    Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Erotic/Horror/Myth work.
    B&W interior, with semi-color gallery, and about 400 pages. Oversized.





    links to my books:
    "TWISTED HOLIDAY HORROR TALES"
    @ comiXology
    @ IndyPlanet
    "Blues Ratz"
    @ Amazon: Spec. BLUE Version Paperback
    @ IndyPlanet: Collected Edition

  3. #978
    Just Member Attila Kiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    1,647

    Default Magnus Omnibus Part 2



    links to my books:
    "TWISTED HOLIDAY HORROR TALES"
    @ comiXology
    @ IndyPlanet
    "Blues Ratz"
    @ Amazon: Spec. BLUE Version Paperback
    @ IndyPlanet: Collected Edition

  4. #979
    Just Member Attila Kiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    1,647

    Default

    Still going through my last year's purchase (as I read them).
    This time it's the TPB of Nathan Never.
    I've been looking for this issue in a single format for a while but had to settle for the TPB. My main interest in the book is the art of Claudio Castellini.
    For fans of Marvel and DC, he drew 2 issues of the epic Marvel vs. DC titles in 1996, but for me, his art is simply amazing in:
    Silver Surfer Dangerous Artifacts (1996)
    the back-up story in:
    Batman Gotham Knights (2000) #19
    and the best Conan art since John Buscema in:
    Conan the Barbarian (1997 Limited Series)

    He only drew the first issue of Nathan Never, setting the bar high for the other artist to follow.
    Page Samples:





    links to my books:
    "TWISTED HOLIDAY HORROR TALES"
    @ comiXology
    @ IndyPlanet
    "Blues Ratz"
    @ Amazon: Spec. BLUE Version Paperback
    @ IndyPlanet: Collected Edition

  5. #980
    Just Member Attila Kiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    1,647

    Default

    Another Claudio Castellini hardcover from last year's purchase.
    If I'm not mistaken, it's also his first professional gig.
    The title is Dylan Dog.
    Maybe you seen the movie based on this Italian B&W comic book with Brandon James Routh in the lead from 10 years ago?
    Well, the comic book is nothing like the movie. Thank God.
    I do remember this character from back home since one of my friends was raving about Mister No and Dylan Dog, but that was around the time I wasn't into comic books anymore.
    So I missed it.
    Claudio only did one issue in this book that collects 3 at the time.





    links to my books:
    "TWISTED HOLIDAY HORROR TALES"
    @ comiXology
    @ IndyPlanet
    "Blues Ratz"
    @ Amazon: Spec. BLUE Version Paperback
    @ IndyPlanet: Collected Edition

  6. #981
    Just Member Attila Kiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    1,647

    Default

    And the second Claudio Castellini work on Dylan Dog also collected in a hardcover.
    This time we can see the leap of improvements in his art (not that it was shabby before).
    These issues were hard to track down. Apparently, after this story was released he and the Italian publisher did not agree on something and the Castellini issues were not reprinted (Yeah, I missed the original releases, big time). Until this hardcover came out. Even in this collection, the original cover image is not reprinted, since Castellini did most of the covers for the initial releases, subsequently, they were all replaced. After the relationship fell apart with the Italien publisher he started working for Marvel, DC, Crossgen, etc.
    Samples:





    Last edited by Attila Kiss; 03-29-2021 at 01:54 PM.
    links to my books:
    "TWISTED HOLIDAY HORROR TALES"
    @ comiXology
    @ IndyPlanet
    "Blues Ratz"
    @ Amazon: Spec. BLUE Version Paperback
    @ IndyPlanet: Collected Edition

  7. #982
    Extraordinary Member Deathstroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7,885

    Default

    I picked up Love and Capes: The Family Way and Firefly: New Sheriff In The 'Verse Volume 2 today.
    Beth Hart - Fire On The Floor CD Review

    Beth Hart February 23rd, 2017 Boston, MA Concert Review

    "I can't complain. I got to be Jim Morrison for the first half of my life, and Ward Cleaver for the second half." - Warren Zevon.

  8. #983
    Mighty Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,925

    Default

    The hardback edition came out Tuesday. I've ordered it from Amazon and will receive it early next week.


  9. #984
    Astonishing Member MRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,479

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seismic-2 View Post
    The hardback edition came out Tuesday. I've ordered it from Amazon and will receive it early next week.

    Picked this up earlier this week while at my lcs grabbing my pulls for the month. Got a chance to crack it open and read it this evening too. Every bit as good as I expected it to be. I really dug the first volume, but liked this one even more.

    -M
    Comic fans get the comics their buying habits deserve.

  10. #985
    Astonishing Member FluffySheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,103

    Default

    I recently picked up Friend of the Devil too but I haven't got to it yet. I really liked the first one. I also picked up the TPB of Scene of the Crime by Brubaker, Lark and Phillips and the reprint of the Roger Stern Spider-man omni.
    Pull List: Daredevil, Radiant Black, Time Before Time, Farmhand, Family Tree, Black Hammer: Visions, Babyteeth

    “We never lose our demons. We only learn to live above them"

  11. #986
    Just Member Attila Kiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    1,647

    Default

    This year's acquisition.

    Magnus' complete Magnum Opus in the English market known as The Specialist (but only 1 book was translated out of the 12 issue series: Full Moon In Dendera GN (1987), which I previously had), finally found its way into my collection as Vol 1 & Vol 2 Hard Covers, with an amazing gallery added to the end of book 2.

    Reading the whole series in one I was truly amazed by its quality. Not the art, (that I knew it would be great), but by the writing. No wonder it's highly praised by critics and fans alike. The stories are complexly woven by fictional crime, real historic figures, and politics of the time it was written. I can say with confidence, I never read anything this great in comic books, which clearly puts Roberto Raviola on top of my list of artists who can also write.





    links to my books:
    "TWISTED HOLIDAY HORROR TALES"
    @ comiXology
    @ IndyPlanet
    "Blues Ratz"
    @ Amazon: Spec. BLUE Version Paperback
    @ IndyPlanet: Collected Edition

  12. #987
    Astonishing Member MRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,479

    Default

    Picked these up yesterday at Half Price Books...







    -M
    Comic fans get the comics their buying habits deserve.

  13. #988
    Mighty Member Kai "the spy"'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,513

    Default

    Softcovers:

    - Godzilla: Dominion
    - Kingdom Kong

    Hardcovers:

    - Amazing World of Superman
    - Himitsu Sentai Gorenger
    - Kull the Savage: The Original Marvel Years Omnibus
    Why does the lesser evil always have to be so great? - Volker Pispers

    #FreeJulian

  14. #989
    Extraordinary Member Deathstroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7,885

    Default

    I picked up Firefly: Blue Sun Rising Volume 2 in hardcover yesterday.
    Beth Hart - Fire On The Floor CD Review

    Beth Hart February 23rd, 2017 Boston, MA Concert Review

    "I can't complain. I got to be Jim Morrison for the first half of my life, and Ward Cleaver for the second half." - Warren Zevon.

  15. #990
    Astonishing Member batnbreakfast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4,311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kai "the spy" View Post
    Softcovers:

    - Godzilla: Dominion
    - Kingdom Kong

    Hardcovers:

    - Amazing World of Superman
    - Himitsu Sentai Gorenger
    - Kull the Savage: The Original Marvel Years Omnibus
    Kull most definitely looks tempting to me but I fear the writing might be too dated?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •