Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spectacular Member

Default How do you decide in which format to buy your books

TPB, issues, digital, HC, OHC, Absolute/Omnibus.

How do you decide?

I prefer OHC but sometimes they are out of print. But then again sometimes simple trades are a good value.

Omnibus and absolutes look great as well, but again price can be a factor especially with out or print books.

I'm a bit new to the hobby of collected editions and sometimes I feel a bit overwhelmed by the choices.

BANNED

It's not much of choise for me... i get whatever format is the first collected edition of the series which i fallow regularly. Mostly cause i can't endure to wait anylonger. lol

Mighty Member

Quote Originally Posted by ChinBo37 View Post
    I'm a bit new to the hobby of collected editions and sometimes I feel a bit overwhelmed by the choices.
    I think everyone goes through this stage. I've altered the way I prefer to buy collections three times since I began in 2013. I still refuse to pay out of print prices, so if it's a series where one book (i.e. punisher max) is difficult to find I just hold out until it's eventually collected in some other format I prefer. Plus, there's too much stuff out there to read/own to get bent out of shape over a particular collection.

Amazing Member Henrik K. Kristensen's Avatar

I look at multiple things:

- page count (I prefer around 300-550 pages)
    - paper stock (I prefer not too glossy for material pre-1990)
    - art re-production (what do the reviews say)
    - binding (if hardcover I want to avoid "moue traps")
    - availability (in what other format does the material exist - or is likely to come within a year or two)

So for I prefer Marvel EPICs or they thinner Omnibus (like Squadron Supreme).
    I also really like the Marvel Masterworks - but only those printed from 2009 where they upped the restoration, binding and paper stock).