Extraordinary Member superduperman's Avatar

Default Medicine in the Star Wars universe

Going off the movies (and only the movies, I have no experience with either the novels or the TV shows) it appears that their medical technology is only slightly more advanced than our own. They have cybernetic technology to replace limbs but it doesn't appear that basic medicine is much better. Amidala dies in childbirth. Grievus has his organs put into a precursor to what Darth Vader got with his lungs filling up with fluids. Vader himself needed an entire bodysuit to stay alive. Saw Gerrera was in an apparatus less advanced than Vader's. Finn is in a coma with no medical way to revive him. Blindness is clearly a thing there. Even Cracked did an article about how medicine in the Star Wars universe is the downside of living there. So my question is, would you be willing to live there knowing that about the only thing they would be able to treat you for is a missing limb?
    Assassinate Putin!

What about Bacta tanks?
    Conn Seanery
    CBR Forums Administrator ~ Ron Swansonite ~ Brock Samson will show us the way
    THE CBR COMMUNITY STANDARDS & RULES ~ Know them. Follow them. Love them.

"Hnh. Could Bowie have been a mutant?" ~Dr. Doom (Hellfire Gala 2022)

There is those. But I'm not entirely sure what all they can do. Luke was brought out of hypothermia but I don't recall seeing them used for anything else. If they can cure diseases, I don't recall seeing it.
    Assassinate Putin!

I think it's a general heal-all sort of thing (though obviously it doesn't replace what's been removed from the body). I assume that, given that there was a war going on, most of the Bacta was probably on the Empire's side.
    Conn Seanery
    CBR Forums Administrator ~ Ron Swansonite ~ Brock Samson will show us the way
    THE CBR COMMUNITY STANDARDS & RULES ~ Know them. Follow them. Love them.

"Hnh. Could Bowie have been a mutant?" ~Dr. Doom (Hellfire Gala 2022)