Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chuck Dixon

Default Chuck Dixon

Tell me about him please. I'm reading Knightfall now- vol 2. Then saw that he's writing a current Bane book. Did a little digging and found a long run on Robin, and Knightwing. I'm relatively new to comics, after a 30 year break or so. Just curious on what your opinions and suggestions are. Thanks!

BANNED

He's written an awful lot so its hard to pin point.

I'd say Batgirl Year One, Robin Year One and Vengeance of Bane are his strongest contributions. His entire body of work on Tim Drake is pretty good but I dont care about his Nightwing work. Oh and Birds of Prey, that run was pretty good. He's got some other solid Bane stuff like Vengeance of Bane 2, Bane of the Demon, Bane etc

Extraordinary Member

To specify for Tim Drake, if you want to save money and still see how good he is, track down a copy of the first Robin miniseries. And I actually really liked his Nightwing stuff, though I suppose in hindsight it was Daredevil derivative.

The fact the guy launched Robin, Nightwing, and Birds of Prey as solo books does kind of explain just how consistently good his stuff was. This isn't a recommendation, but just a fun story; supposedly at a convention, a fan of Cassandra Cain (from when Steph became Batgril and Cass was in limbo) thanked him for being the last person to write her really well, and he had to struggle to remember that DC had plugged him into the Outsiders book where she was for a short time.

The guy may never have quite written seminal arcs like some of his more famous peers, but the man kind of defines "work horse" among comic writers.
    Like action, adventure, rogues, and outlaws? Like anti-heroes, femme fatales, mysteries and thrillers?

I wrote a book with them. Outlaw’s Shadow: A Sherwood Noir. Robin Hood’s evil counterpart, Guy of Gisbourne, is the main character. Feel free to give it a look: https://read.amazon.com/kp/embed?asi...E2PKBNJFH76GQP