Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Which Omnibus should I get?

Hi there,

First of all, i'm new to this whole comic book thing. Well, started reading/collecting at the end of March 2017. I'm hooked since and buy a lot of different stuff and follow lots of series. I want to buy my first omnibus soon and there's a couple of them that I want to get. Was hoping you guys could tell me which one in my list would be the best buy.

The Amazing Spider-Man Vol. 1 (1963)
    Spider-Man by Todd McFarlane
    Daredevil Vol. 1 by Brubaker
    Daredevil Vol. 1 by Bendis
    Gotham Central
    Superman The Golden Age Vol. 1

Heard that The Sleeper was pretty good too.

So, what should I get first?

Thanks for your opinions/advices

Alex

Quote Originally Posted by Bloodbones View Post
    Hi there,

First of all, i'm new to this whole comic book thing. Well, started reading/collecting at the end of March 2017. I'm hooked since and buy a lot of different stuff and follow lots of series. I want to buy my first omnibus soon and there's a couple of them that I want to get. Was hoping you guys could tell me which one in my list would be the best buy.

Gotham Central

Alex
    Sleeper is amazing! I would highly recommend that. Also Planetary. Gotham Central is almost as good as Sleeper or Planetary IMHO and Bendis' DD is probably my favourite Marvel run ever and probably on of my favourite superhero books. You need Bendis' run before Brubaker's though but both are just great but the Bendis omnibuses are quite out of print and cost a fortune.
    As for the older stuff I can't really comment, depends on how much you like old material, I prefer bronze age or old adventure strip series to the SA and GA superhero stuff. But as far as SA material goes Spider-man is one of the best.
    The McFarlane spidey I think is only for spidey completionists or for nostalgia. Or maybe if you are a huge fan of McFarlane's rt.

If you can find Bendis' Daredevil id go for that.